Contact Us

City Hall

CITY HALL HOURS 
Tues-Fri |  8:00am – 5:45pm *

PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT SERVICES
Mon-Fri |  8:30am – 4:30pm*
*closed for lunch between 12 & 1:15pm

Address

City of Merritt
Box 189
2185 Voght Street
Merritt, B.C.
V1K 1B8

Contact

Phone: 250-378-4224
Fax: 250-378-2600
Email: info@merritt.ca

*HOLIDAY HOURS:  City Hall, Development Services & Civic Centre Office typically closed.  |   Pool  closures vary. |   Civic Centre open as booked.  | Arena open as booked.
*STAFF APPOINTMENTS: available as booked.
MAYOR & COUNCIL
CAO
CORPORATE SERVICES
COMMUNICATIONS
COMMUNITY POLICING
BYLAW
DEVELOPMENT SERVICES
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION
FIRE & RESCUE
HUMAN RESOURCES
IT DEPARTMENT
PUBLIC WORKS & ENGINEERING
RECREATION & FACILITIES
TOURISM

Chief Administrative Officer

Sean Smith

Chief Administrative Officer

(250) 378-8613
ssmith@merritt.ca

  • All City Operations
  • Intermediary between Council and Staff

Greg Lowis

Director of Corporate Services

(250) 378-8614
glowis@merritt.ca

Bylaw Services Officer

(250) 378-8628
bylaw@merritt.ca

  • Administering of Oaths and Affidavits
  • Bylaw Preparation
  • Bylaw Services
  • Chief Election Officer
  • City Meeting Preparation
  • Coordinates preparation of Legal Documents
  • Emergency Public Information Officer
  • Freedom of Information Requests
  • Legislative Research
  • Policy Development
  • Records Management

Communications

Connected to:

Stay Connected

Kim Mullin

Communications + Engagement Manager

250.378.8630
kim.mullin @ merritt.ca
communications@merritt.ca

  • External Communication
    • City Advertising
    • Promotional Material
    • Publications
    • Social Media
    • Website
  • Internal Communication
  • Media Relations

Community Policing

Connected to:

Community Policing

Marlene Jones

Community Policing Office Coordinator

250-378-3955
  • Crime Prevention
  • Community Education and Awareness
  • Bicycle Education & Theft Prevention
  • Block Watch & Business Watch
  • Citizens on Patrol
  • Speed Watch
  • Smart Step Youth Association
  • Crime Stoppers Merritt & Nicola Valley

Lacey McRae Williams

Director of Planning and Development Services

(250) 378-8620
lacey.williams@merritt.ca

Development Services

(250)378-8615
planning@merritt.ca

Building & Safety Inspection Services

(250) 378-8615
building@merritt.ca

  • Address Changes
  • ALR Applications
  • Building Permits
  • Building and Safety Inspections
  • Demolition Permits
  • Development Permits
  • Development Variance Permits
  • OCP Amendments
  • Plumbing Permits
  • Rezoning
  • Sign Permits
  • Strata Conversions
  • Subdivision

Economic Development

Connected to:

Doing Business

Marilyn Christensen

Economic Development Manager

250-378-8623
marilyn.christensen @merritt.ca
ecdev@merritt.ca

  • Business Attraction
  • Business Expansion Programs
  • Business Retention
  • City Centre Revitalization
  • Economic Sector Development
  • Industrial Land Development
  • Long-term Economic Development Strategies

Financial Administration

Connected to:

Pay OnlineProperty Tax SaleProperty Tax

Finance Office

finance@merritt.ca

Norman Thompson

Acting Director of Finance & IT

(250) 378-8616
norman.thompson@merritt.ca

Sean Strang

CPA, CMA – Deputy Director of Finance & IT

250-378-8635
sstrang@merritt.ca

  • Accounting and Payroll
  • Accounts Payable and Receivable
  • Cemetery Management
  • Financial Planning, Reporting and Budgets
  • Grants in Aid
  • Property Tax
  • Treasury and Cash Management
  • Water, Sewer and Garbage Billing

Fire & Rescue

Connected to:

Fire Rescue Website

Dave Tomkinson

Fire Chief

(250) 378-5626
dtomkinson@merritt.ca

Captain Stuart Milne

Fire Prevention Officer

smilne@merritt.ca

Captain Carl Johnston

Training Officer/Work Experience Program Coordinator

cjohnston@merritt.ca

Krista Minar

Emergency Management Coordinator

kminar@merritt.ca

  • All Fire and Rescue Department Operations
  • Emergency Response and Planning
  • Firefighter Recruitment and Retention
  • Firefighter Training
  • Fire Prevention
  • Inspection and Code Enforcement

Human Resources

Connected to:

Jobs at the City

Christine Carlson

Director of Human Resources

(250) 378-8626
ccarlson@merritt.ca

  • Oversees Employee and Labour Relations
  • Recruitment and Selection
  • Training and Development
  • Compensation
  • Occupational Health and Safety

IT Department

Jim Johnston

Manager of IT Services

(250) 378-4224
jjohnston@merritt.ca

  • Customer Service Help Desk
  • Data and Network Security
  • IT Hardware and Software

Rick Green

Director of Public Works and Engineering Services

(250) 378-4224
rick.green@merritt.ca

Mike Mouland

Superintendent of Public Works

(250) 378-4224
mike.mouland@merritt.ca

After Hours

(250) 378-4224, PRESS 3

Maintenance of the City’s Infrastructure

  • Roads, Pathways, & Street Signs
  • Parks, Cemetery & Facilities
  • Community Water System
  • Sanitary Sewer System & Waste Water Treatment Plant
  • Waste Collection & Disposal
  • Environmental Services
Report a Problem

Sky McKeown

Director of Recreation and Facilities

(250) 378-8618
smckeown@merritt.ca

Dave Zakall

Manager of Operations, Recreation & Facilities

(250) 378-4832 Phone
(250) 378-6000 Fax
dzakall@merritt.ca

Nicola Valley Memorial Arena (NVMA)

PO Box 189, 2075 Mamette Avenue
Merritt BC V1K 1B8

Shawn Worrin

Maintenance Supervisor

(250) 315-1050
sworrin@merritt.ca

Alix Legouffe

Aquatic Supervisor

(250) 378-6662 x301 Phone
alegouffe@merritt.ca

Nicola Valley Aquatic Centre (NVAC)

PO Box 189, 2040 Mamette Avenue
Merritt BC V1K 1B8

(250) 378-6662 Phone
(250) 378-3504 Fax
nvac@merritt.ca

Jenn Doughtery

Recreation Programmer

(250) 315-1050
jenn.dougherty@merritt.ca

Merritt Civic Centre (MCC)

PO Box 189, 1950 Mamette Avenue
Merritt BC V1K 1B8

(250) 315-1050 Phone
(250) 378-4205 Fax
mcc@merritt.ca

Mirko and Marija Zelembaba

Claybanks RV Park Campground Operators

PO Box 2676, 1302 Voght Street
Merritt BC  V1K 1B8

(250) 378-6441
claybanks@merritt.ca

Recreation GuideOnline Registration
  •  Operations of City Facilities
    • Merritt Civic Centre
    • Nicola Valley Aquatic Centre
    • Nicola Valley Memorial Arena
    • City Hall
  • Maintenance of Outdoor Recreation Facilities
    • Baseball Diamonds
    • Soccer Pitches
    • Multi-use Sports Box
    • Claybanks RV Park
  • Recreation Programs and Services
  • City Special Events

Tourism

Connected to:

Tourism Website
  • Tourism Management
  • Marketing
  • Promotional Material
  • Merritt Visitor Centre
  • Tourism Inventory and Asset Management
  • Product Development

STAY CONNECTED

SIGN UP FOR NEWS

Mayor, Council and Staff respectfully acknowledge that the City of Merritt is located on the traditional, ancestral and unceded territory of the Nlaka’pamux and Syilx people.