Contact Us

City Hall

Open to the Public

Mon-Fri |  10:0am – 12:00pm, 1:00pm – 3:00pm

Address

City of Merritt
Box 189
2185 Voght Street
Merritt, B.C.
V1K 1B8

General Open Hours

Mon-Fri |  8:30am – 4:30pm

Contact

Phone: 250-378-4224
Fax: 250-378-2600
Email: info@merritt.ca

CAO
CORPORATE SERVICES
COMMUNICATIONS
DEVELOPMENT SERVICES
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION
FIRE & RESCUE
HUMAN RESOURCES
IT DEPARTMENT
PUBLIC WORKS & ENGINEERING
RECREATION & FACILITIES
TOURISM

Chief Administrative Officer

Scott Hildebrand

Chief Administrative Officer

(250) 378-8613
shildebrand@merritt.ca

  • All City Operations
  • Intermediary between Council and Staff

Sean Smith

Director of Corporate Services

(250) 378-8634
ssmith@merritt.ca

Greg Lowis

Deputy Corporate Officer

(250) 378-8614
glowis@merritt.ca

Bylaw Services Officer

(250) 378-8628
bylaw@merritt.ca

  • Administering of Oaths and Affidavits
  • Bylaw Preparation
  • Bylaw Services
  • Chief Election Officer
  • City Meeting Preparation
  • Coordinates preparation of Legal Documents
  • Emergency Public Information Officer
  • Freedom of Information Requests
  • Legislative Research
  • Policy Development
  • Records Management

Communications

Connected to:

Stay Connected

Will George

Communications Manager

(250) 378-8619
communications@merritt.ca

  • External Communication
    • City Advertising
    • Promotional Material
    • Publications
    • Social Media
    • Website
  • Internal Communication
  • Media Relations

Development Services Office

(250)378-8615
planning@merritt.ca

Don McArthur

Planning and Development Services
Manager

(250)378-8620
dmcarthur@merritt.ca

Alan Palmgren

RBO, Building & Safety Inspection Services

(250) 378-8622
building@merritt.ca

  • Address Changes
  • ALR Applications
  • Building Permits
  • Building and Safety Inspections
  • Demolition Permits
  • Development Permits
  • Development Variance Permits
  • OCP Amendments
  • Plumbing Permits
  • Rezoning
  • Sign Permits
  • Strata Conversions
  • Subdivision

Economic Development

Connected to:

Doing Business

Will George

Economic Development Manager

(250) 378-8619
wgeorge@merritt.ca

  • Business Attraction
  • Business Expansion Programs
  • Business Retention
  • City Centre Revitalization
  • Economic Sector Development
  • Industrial Land Development
  • Long-term Economic Development Strategies

Financial Administration

Connected to:

Pay OnlineProperty Tax SaleProperty Tax

Finance Office

finance@merritt.ca

Wayne Anderson

CPA, CMA – Director of Finance & IT

(250) 378-8616
wanderson@merritt.ca

  • Accounting and Payroll
  • Accounts Payable and Receivable
  • Cemetery Management
  • Financial Planning, Reporting and Budgets
  • Grants in Aid
  • Property Tax
  • Treasury and Cash Management
  • Water, Sewer and Garbage Billing

Fire & Rescue

Connected to:

Fire Rescue Website

Dave Tomkinson

Fire Chief

(250) 378-5626
dtomkinson@merritt.ca

Lieutenant Stuart Milne

Fire Prevention Officer

smilne@merritt.ca

Captain Carl Johnston

Training Officer/Work Experience Program Coordinator

cjohnston@merritt.ca

Krista Minar

Fire Life Safety Educator

kminar@merritt.ca

  • All Fire and Rescue Department Operations
  • Emergency Response and Planning
  • Firefighter Recruitment and Retention
  • Firefighter Training
  • Fire Prevention
  • Inspection and Code Enforcement

Human Resources

Connected to:

Jobs at the City

Christine Carlson

Human Resources Manager

(250) 378-8626
ccarlson@merritt.ca

  • Oversees Employee and Labour Relations
  • Recruitment and Selection
  • Training and Development
  • Compensation
  • Occupational Health and Safety

IT Department

Jim Johnston

IT Manager

(250) 378-4224
jjohnston@merritt.ca

  • Customer Service Help Desk
  • Data and Network Security
  • IT Hardware and Software

Charlie Henderson

Manager/Superintendent of Public Works and Engineering Services

(250) 378-4278
chenderson@merritt.ca

  • Maintenance of the City’s Infrastructure
    • Cemetery
    • Community Water System
    • Environmental Services
    • Parks
    • Sanitary Sewer System
    • Street Signs and Roads
    • Solid Waste Collection & Disposal
    • Waste Water Treatment Plant

Sky McKeown

Manager of Recreation & Facilities

(250) 378-8618
smckeown@merritt.ca

Dave Zakall

Recreation Operations Manager

(250) 378-4832 Phone
(250) 378-6000 Fax
dzakall@merritt.ca

Nicola Valley Memorial Arena (NVMA)

PO Box 189, 2075 Mamette Avenue
Merritt BC V1K 1B8

Shawn Worrin

Maintenance Supervisor

(250) 315-1050
sworrin@merritt.ca

Laura Chivers

Aquatic Supervisor

(250) 378-6662 x301 Phone
lchivers@merritt.ca

Nicola Valley Aquatic Centre (NVAC)

PO Box 189, 2040 Mamette Avenue
Merritt BC V1K 1B8

(250) 378-6662 Phone
(250) 378-3504 Fax
nvac@merritt.ca

Felicity Peat

Recreation Programmer

(250) 315-1050
fpeat@merritt.ca

Merritt Civic Centre (MCC)

PO Box 189, 1950 Mamette Avenue
Merritt BC V1K 1B8

(250) 315-1050 Phone
(250) 378-4205 Fax
mcc@merritt.ca

Mirko and Marija Zelembaba

Claybanks RV Park Campground Operators

PO Box 2676, 1302 Voght Street
Merritt BC  V1K 1B8

(250) 378-6441
claybanks@merritt.ca

  •  Operations of City Facilities
    • Merritt Civic Centre
    • Nicola Valley Aquatic Centre
    • Nicola Valley Memorial Arena
    • City Hall
  • Maintenance of Outdoor Recreation Facilities
    • Baseball Diamonds
    • Soccer Pitches
    • Multi-use Sports Box
    • Claybanks RV Park
  • Recreation Programs and Services
  • City Special Events

Tourism

Connected to:

Tourism Website

Will George

Tourism Manager

(250) 378-8619
info@tourismmerritt.com

  • Tourism Management
  • Marketing
  • Promotional Material
  • Merritt Visitor Centre
  • Tourism Inventory and Asset Management
  • Product Development